Hidden Along River Road…

…is Scotty’s Landing.

During the winter/fall, this is one of the best “getaway” spots for when I’m craving water and solidarity. In the summer, it’s great for drinking, swimming, floating, and fishing (I think). It’s just a short drive down 5th street coming from the zoo or Timber Creek apartments for those new to the area.

I’m a shit photographer, but here’s my best iPhone effort to convince you of the beauty in this little gem.

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetIMG_2535Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

How to Get Here

I have to tell you now, I’m directionally challenged so I hope you get this. Feel free to let me know if my directions just don’t make sense.

A good place to start is on 5th and Walnut headed towards the zoo and away from Mountain Mike’s. You just follow 5th until you reach the orchards. Actually, you just keep going. At some point you pass this tall, metal thing. I’m not sure what it is but just keep going. Eventually, you’ll see a turnoff. I think there’s still a sign there that says “River Road”, but what’s slightly confusing is that once you’re in the orchards, 5th turns into “Chico River Road.” The turn is on the right side and can be hard to see but this huge dirt plot is what I look for.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Follow this road until you cross a small bridge. Once you cross the bridge, immediately start looking for this turnoff on the left side. It can be hard to see but here is a picture to give you an idea. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

It’s only about a 10-15 minute drive but it feels far, in a good way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

